Frequently asked questions

Any commercial, surface supplied trained and certified diver, with or without welding experience.

  • EAL (EMTA Awards) – part of SEMTA (Sector Skills Council for Science, Engineering and Manufacturing Technologies) issue knowledge competence certificates against the course syllabus (EWF/IIW 570-01 guidelines).
  • IMarEST – Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology approve the course under their CPD programme.
  • Class 1 welder qualifications are issued by Zurich. Class II is an option is issued by Speciality Enterprises. Alternatively, the school will use a local outside laboratory.
  • International Institute of Welding
  • European Welding Federation (EWF) is part of International Institute of Welding (IIW). Although two separate organisations, they both work jointly together on international welding qualifications. (The Weldcraft-Pro follows the guidelines, as referenced in the document 570-01 for fillet welder-plate).
  • BSEN ISO 15618-1: 2002 (class I)
  • Qualification testing of welders for underwater welding. Part 1 Diver-welders for hyperbaric wet welding
  • BS 4872-1:1982 (class II) or
  • AWS D3.6M-2010
  • Dry exercises are broken down into stages, i.e. stage 1 exercise 1/2, stage 2 exercise 1, etc.
  • Dry welding – covers BoP, stringer beads and weaving in PA position and then moves on to T and Lap joints in PB position. Other positions are available, depending on ability.
  • Wet welding exercises simply break-down into BoP, Lap and T joints; starting in PA position, then moving onto PB and then ultimately PD position. (fillet welds only).

Learning Outcome (this is what the student is taught and assessed to)

All LOC’s are assessed through written, oral and/or practical work the student undertakes.

There are a total of 9 LOC’s, but the 9th covers practical wet exercises.